Members of the Governing Body

A board of governors manages the CRRID and is the apex decision-making authority. The Governing Body discusses important matters related to the functioning of the Centre such as budget, research progress and priority, appointments, collaborations and networking, policy options and others. The members of the Governing Body are either nominated or elected from the CRRID Society under different categories, while some have life terms. The members of CRRID Society are high achievers in their respective fields and have contributed significantly to the cause of public life. Drawn from diverse of areas consisting of academics, administration, art and culture, economic planning, industry, law, public affairs, social work, trade and commerce, etc. the members reflect the wider representations of intellectual interests in CRRID Society. Both the Governing Body and the CRRID Society meet regularly as per the provisions in the Memorandum of the Society. The term of service for the Governing Body and the Society is for five years.

The following are the members of the CRRID Governing Body for the current term commencing from 1st September 2013 to 31st August 2018.

Members of the Governing Body



Professor (Dr.) Manmohan Singh
(Former Prime Minister of India)
3 Motilal Nehru Marg
New Delhi 110011



Professor R.P. Bambah

Governing Body, CRRID
House No. 1275, Sector 19-B

Chandigarh 160019



Shri T.K.A. Nair
(Former Advisor to Prime Minister of India)

VH 61, Vikrama Puram Hills

Kuravankonam, P O Kowdiar

Thiruvananthapuram 695003



Professor B.L. Abbi
House No. E1/1

Panjab University
Sector 14



Dr. S.K. Mangal
Senior Vice-Chairman
House No. 64,

Sector 11-A
Chandigarh 160011



Dr. Rashpal Malhotra
Executive Vice-Chairman
Centre for Research in Rural and Industrial Development
Sector 19-A, Madhya Marg

Chandigarh 160019



Dr. K.K. Talwar

(Former President, National Academy of Medical Sciences, India)
National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research (NITTTR)
Sector 26
Chandigarh- 160019


Professor Sukhpal Singh
Director General
Centre for Research in Rural and Industrial Development
Sector 19-A, Madhya Marg

Chandigarh 160019


Shri V. K. Sibal
(Former Member Punjab Human Rights Commission)
House No. 29, Sector 5
Chandigarh- 160008


Col. (Retd) Subhash Bakshi
Yantra 1505,
Paramount Symphony,
Crossing Republik (Near ABES Engineering College),


Professor V. K. Malhotra
Member Secretary, Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR)
(Ex-Officio Member-Nominee of ICSSR)

JNU Institutional Area
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg
New Delhi - 110067


Dr. Shalina Mehta
Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology
House No. 727,

Sector 11-B
Chandigarh- 160011


Professor S.S. Johl

Central University of Punjab, Bathinda

House No. 2920, Gurdev Nagar

Ludhiana 141001



Administrative Secretary

Department of Planning, Government of Punjab, Chandigarh

(Ex-Officio Member-Nominee of Punjab Government)


Principal Secretary

Finance & Planning, Government of Haryana
(Ex-Officio Member-Nominee of Haryana Government)
Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh


* Life Members of the Governing Body